Protien power

So I am back with a new recipe. I don’t think this recipe is popular, well I have no idea, I just like to play around with my food and BOOM I have created something flavorful and tasty.

This recipe is great for body builders, weight watchers, healthy eaters and of course everybody else. I am not a health expert but these recipes that I create helped me lose 15 kilograms, which is around 35 pounds; and I have reached my optimal muscle capacity.

I don’t agree with people who have loads of carbohydrates for lunch, especially if they are at work, university, or have a long day ahead. But why? Try having a heavy pasta and get back to what you were doing, I bet you will feel lazy and ready to crash. Therefore, it is best if you have a combination of good carbs, protien, fat and fiber to keep you full and energized for the rest of the evening.

PhotoEditor360_1411998697255

Red Lentil with Chicken (recipe for one)

Ingredients:

Lentil

Black lentil: half a cup

Boiling Water: Half a liter (to cook the lentil)

Garlic: 1 clove ( crushed)

Chicken stock: very little or depending on your taste (I usually get it in low sodium)

Cumin: 1 tea spoon (not too full)

Dash of pepper

Dash of salt

Grilled Chicken

Boneless, skinless Chicken breast: 200g-250g (preferably pounded)

Salt: dash

Pepper: dash

Sunflower oil: 1 teaspoon

How to make:

Make sure you clean out the lentil from any stones or dirt. Then rinse thoroughly under cold water.

Add the boiling water to a saucepan then add the crushed clove of garlic and the chicken stock, you can also add other flavorings if you desire such as onions and herbs.

Add the red lentils to the boiling water and let it boil further for another 2-3 minutes, then let it simmer for 20 minutes.

Add a dash of salt and let it simmer for another 5 minutes. Taste the lentil and make sure it is soft

If there a good amount of water left then discard it, however, if not then you can just keep it.

While the lentil is cooking, you can start cooking the chicken so they are done around the same time

Grilled chicken:

I like to make sure that my chicken is clean with flour and vinegar to get rid of the taste and smell

Pre heat the oven at 200 F

Coat the chicken with the sunflower oil

Add salt and pepper for seasoning (you can add paprika, garlic powder) ; I wanted to keep it simple

Place the chicken on heat resistant plate and put it in the oven

Cook for 8 – 14 minutes on each side

After the chicken is done, place it on top of the lentil, and you can enjoy it with some multigrain bread, green side salad, or some diced boiled potatoes.

3 thoughts on “Protien power

  1. This recipe looks great! I am a university student, so I always need something simple that I can just cook up when I have time, and usually things like that tend to be unhealthy. But, I can’t wait to try this one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

